Welcome to the UUBF

Welcome to the Unitarian Universalist Buddhist Fellowship!

Since the introduction of the first Buddhist texts to America in the mid-nineteenth century, Buddhism has been an extremely influential force among Unitarians and, over the last thirty years, Unitarian Universalists. Early Unitarians, such as Henry David Thoreau, Margaret Fuller, and Ralph Waldo Emerson responded with great enthusiasm to Buddhism’s emphasis on individual experience, rather than appeal to scriptures or belief in miraculous events, as the basis for authority in spiritual matters.In recent years, Unitarian Universalists have increasingly been drawn to explore Buddhist religious practices, especially seated meditation, in order to ground the “free and responsible search for truth and meaning” that is one of the guiding principles of the UU tradition. Meditation invites a direct and immediate experience of reality and provides a balance to purely intellectual inquiry.


– From the announcement in the World of a UU-Zen retreat with Rev. James Ishmael Ford, March ’96

UUBF Membership Gathering
Sunday, November 14, 2021
at 1:00pm PT / 2:00pm MT / 3:00pm CT / 4:00pm ET

Calling Buddhist-inspired UUs to meet for meditation and a dharma talk by David Loy, author of Ecodharma: Buddhist Teachings for the Ecological Crisis. Loy will be the lead teacher at the 2022 UUBF Convocation March 17-22 at the Dekoven Center in Racine, WI.  (flyer link)

Please use this link to register for the Zoom meeting:

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEscOqrrz8oE9ENTxBVcfeH8KPWM-ED5_nh?fbclid=IwAR1yyknW8x5vH3cf9Mdd0gpNsb1ctL_UB4_8OSYQ2GOik39KxBDrfwe6KKs


SUPPORT THE UUBF – BECOME A MEMBER
(OR RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP) NOW AND HERE!

FOLLOW US ON Facebook


Video and audio recordings from Convocation 2015 with Stephen Batchelor found here

While made with the approval of the UUBF Board of Directors, the content of this page, such as any errors or omissions, is ultimately the responsibility of Sam Trumbore (strumbore@uumin.org). Any quotations are made with approval of the authors, who retain all copyrights. Last Update: November 3, 2021